Under African Skies


Honored to have been present at the same time, The Mighty Lion Nelson Rolihlahla Mandela walked this Earth.

STORYTELLER

I’m a little early today. Forgive me. Sometimes even when you expect it, news comes with jarring certainty. Things and lives just end. You know what I’m going to write… a little. Tonight’s news is all about Nelson Mandela. So, I’ll depart from my usual New Orleans work.

I journeyed to South Africa about ten years ago with a couple of friends. I was so sick that I almost couldn’t work. In fact, I went to the emergency room in a hospital located in Pretoria where I was given a prescription for Tylenol.  Things were still a little rough back then. I had to show my passport to even get into the parking lot. But, that’s a whole other story. We also went to Pilanesberg, a game reserve, where my friends and travel partners presented an academic paper. I stated in the cabin that night.I was too sick to go…

View original post 282 more words

Leave a Reply

